top of page

A Spiritual Hierarchy

Humility is the fear of the Lord; its wages are riches and honor and life. Proverbs 22:4 NIV

Some forty years ago, I was introduced to Maslow's hierarchy of needs in a psychology class. Imagine a pyramid with five levels of things we desire to become fully satisfied, from bottom to top: physiological, safety, love/belonging, esteem, and self-actualization. The theory is before we can obtain a higher level, the levels below must be attained. So, to experience love, we must first have our basic needs of food, clothing, and safety met.

There is a metaphorical hierarchy in our spiritual journey as well. At the most basic level is our connection with God. It begins with humility, recognizing He is the maker and mover of all there is. In doing this, we also show our respect and appreciation for all He has done and is doing. All the good things that follow are built upon this understanding and acceptance. Any spiritual riches, accolades, and fullness of life grow from that relationship.

Almighty God, we come humbly before you today, acknowledging you are the Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. You have made all that is and continue orchestrating the universe's infinitesimal details. We worship and praise your mighty name and thank you for all the good gifts you give us each day. Amen.


Pastor Tim

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page